ESP P3A compared to off-the-shelf amps?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I built some P3a amps some years ago (using official PCBs from Rod). They went well (thanks to plentiful info on the ESP website) but I put them bridged into a modest subwoofer (which isn't really what they're designed for) so I've no personal experience of their sound quality when used with normal speakers.

Now I'm going to build some active speakers with active crossovers, and am trying to decide between building more P3A's to power them or getting a couple of ready-built stereo hi-fi amps, such as one would buy from mainstream hi-fi stores. The cost of the drivers on my wish list seems to be climbing, so I'll want amps that don't let them down.

There are lots of threads comparing the P3a with other DIY builds and modules etc. but is anyone aware of any that compare their audio performance with reasonably modern/decent shop-bought hi-fi amps? Or alternatively could anyone who has both say what they think?

Many thanks
Kev

Last edited:
I just noticed on the P3a web page, it says "Coupled with a Linkwitz-Riley crossover, the amplifiers can be mounted in the back of the speaker box, so only signal and power are needed for a complete system that will leave most commercial offerings for dead", which kind of answers my question. Encouraging too, as thats what I'm intending (albeit perhaps in a separate box) :)

I've also been looking around at what people have found under the hood of typical shop-bought amps; not all are bad by any means but even within the big hi-fi names it seems like there can be things like minimal (or even false!) heat-sinks, less than generous transformers and capacitors, and quite a lot of empty space in impressive looking cases.