Storage box conversion for 12v soundsystem

I've had a few speakers kicking about and found a nice box that they fit in. I've also found a couple of D class amps that can power the 2x3.5" speakers (140w) and the 6" sub (250w). The only problem is when running through a port calculator I'm getting a port length of 442.4cm @35hz which isn't gonna fit in the box! I'm not sure if I've messed up on my calculation and should have used a larger box. Can anyone advise if it's worth carrying on with the project either with a short port or as a sealed sub? I'm trying to build a system to run off of 12v for days out during the summer.

The box is 22x20x24.5cm and was thinking of sealing off the 2x3.5" speakers so would loose a bit more space.

Apologies if newbie questions it's my first build and struggling to get my head around it. 🤔

IMG_20240508_085034.jpg

Why would you tune that box to 35 Hz?
Measure speaker parameters, unless you can get their datasheets, feed those to some cabinet designer software and it will suggest proper tuning.
Given the small speakers and cabinet, wouldn't he surprised at 80-90 Hz or thereabouts.

Welcome to the forum!

It would help if you were to tell us the make and model of the 6" woofer, or supply a link to its specifications.

If it is the outside dimensions of your box you have given, then its internal volume is in the order of 10 litres.

P.S. I'd be interested to know which "port calculator" you used.

Reactions: 1 user
Thanks for the replies and for the heads up JMFahey. I will try and find some more details and take another look.

Cheers Galu. The sub is a qtx qwx6 250w model. The dimensions are for the internal space but obv will loose a bit when I box off the two 3.5" speakers. I will try and minimize this as much as poss and can recalculate the internal space. The specs from the website are below and the link to the port length calculator I used was: https://www.omnicalculator.com/other/port-length

Thanks again,
Dan