Toroidal Power Transformers Questions

Greetings all. I just joined this group. My background is researching designing toroidal transformers and have extensive knowledge of same. From what I have read so far, there seems to be some misinformation. Pls post any toroid questions and I will do my best to answer them.

Reactions: 8 users
Hi Brian,
Great that you joined, Im also fresh here, just a month old member. Thanks for your offer!
There is one thing about toroids thats utterly annoying, a buzz, horrible noise worse than any other. Here people design - 120db noise circuits for power amps, what's worth when toroids just buzzes.
The shop where I was buying my transformers was over sizing the core for about 20% of nominal power, then vacuum lacquer it and then double bake it. Result is much better but sometimes it still does very quiet, but horrible buzzz.
Can we get rid of it all together? Make completely silent trafo in 300 to 1000w range, is that feasible?

Reactions: 1 user
Hi Brian
Thanks for your offer. I'm interested in your view on potential issues that might arise when using a toroidal power transformer with a split primary winding (120-0-120v) as a pushpull output transformer using, in my case, an 8v secondary to give around 7k2 ohms pp with an 8ohm sec load. Possibly a similar query to post #3.

Should I expect a toroidal transformer to always have higher winding resistance than an equivalent VA EI core transformer?
What does it mean about the quality of the transformers if I found the opposite? Very badly made toroidal?

FYI I am talking about the effective output resistance of the transformer, not just the resistance of one winding.
I am curious what you have there. I am attaching the PDFs of two isolation transformers I have been considering for tube amps.
One is EI (2.5kgs), the other toroidal (1.6kgs), with similar VA ratings. The EI has a regulation of 25%, the toroidal 8%, so the output resistance of the toroidal is clearly lower than that of the EI?